My pregnancy changed my life, or how I rediscovered my body (part 2)

Before leaving the maternity, I wanted to weight in. They didn’t have a scale. So I did it as soon as I got home.

And I started moving pretty much right away. Not intensively of course, but light biking while watching TV (one to two weeks after I got back home). I didn’t have a c-section, they didn’t have to cut me, no stitches, so I recovered fast.

Three weeks after the delivery, I speeded things up a little: I started doing the BBG 1.0, without forcing too much. I did each circuit once (2 x 7 min). I added approximately 1 h of biking, very light while watching TV.

About my diet, once I had my baby, I didn’t have those surges to eat anymore. My hormones had dropped and I could eat normally again. Except that I realized very fast that I didn’t feel the need to eat much. I felt good, I felt complete. I didn’t feel the need to fill a void inside of me through food. At the same time, I did my best to eat healthy.

I had decided a very long time ago that I wanted to breastfeed, no matter what. In the beginning, it hurt like hell. But the nurses help me heal my boobs so I could keep doing it. I wanted to breastfeed for my girl, knowing all the benefits she would get from it. I also did it for myself. Indeed, breastfeeding make the body work to produce milk. So as long as I would breastfeed, my body would burn an average of 300 calories a day, without doing anything else. I wouldn’t miss that advantage in the quest to get my body back.

Doing all this, I lost 12 kg the first month. I was back under 70 kg by the end of June 2015. The easiest part was done. The following 2 months, I lost 3 kg each month, and when I got back to work, 15 weeks after giving birth, I had only 2-3 kg left, from the 24 I had gained.

But I didn’t intend to stop there…

If I had to give some advice to shred the pregnancy weight, it would be:

  • Get ready before the due date, be ready mentally, that’s the most important part. Know that eating healthy and moving are also in the best interest of your baby. They learn by example, they do what their parents do.
  •  Don’t be afraid of starting as soon as you feel your body is ready, especially if the delivery went well.
  • Start slowly. Rome wasn’t built in a day. No need to be willing to run a marathon a week after giving birth. The weight will fall off in time. Your body already went through a big traumatism, no need to push it too far.
  • The opposite is also true, don’t be scared to challenge yourself, within reasonable limits. Change happens when you get out of your comfort zone. Without pushing your limits, no progression is possible.
  • Finally, be nice and gentle with your body, take care of it, it just accomplished a miracle.

Do not hesitate to ask me questions or leave me a comment to share your experience !

Leave a Reply

