Fail – assess – recommit – move on

Who has never failed at anything in life ?

No one. Everyone fails at times.

But not everyone gets back up after falling.

Yesterday, I had set to complete an arms and abs BBG workout. But I waited until 9 pm to get off the couch and get going. It was so HOT in my room and I was tired from my day. All I wanted to do was go to bed, but I pushed myself to start the workout.

Half-way through though, I stopped feeling like I couldn’t keep going. I put away my dumbbells, chair, yoga mat, took off my clothes and just left.

And now, I’m pissed. I’m mad at myself for not having the mentality of a champion, the one that pushes you to keep going when you don’t feel like it but you keep going until your workout is complete. I’m mad because I know I could have done the whole 30 min. I did only 15.

I could see the glass half-full : I went and did 15 min when I wanted to just go to bed.

But that won’t help me keep moving forward, that won’t help me become the person I want to be.

What will then ?

There are 3 steps to keep moving forward once you fall :

  1. Assess that you did fall: admit your mistake.
  2. Recommit : set your mindset right and refocus on your goal
  3. Move on : dwelling on the fall won’t make it go away, but taking action to go on will.

Those are the 3 steps that you HAVE to follow if you want to reach your goal and make your dream come true. Without those, you won’t get back up. You’ll fail. You’ll give up.

Remember this : You have not failed until you give up.

So today, I assess that I did fall when I could have kept going. I recommit to doing my workouts and put more energy into them. I move on and realize that Rome wasn’t built in a day. I promise that I will keep going and I will push myself harder next time I struggle, I won’t take the easy way out.

As the image picture says : the road to success and to failure are the same one. The only difference is how far you go before you stop.

nbnkz06

Leave a Reply

