The happiness project

As I mentioned in my previous post, a few weeks ago, I started to read a book called “The happiness project”, by Gretchen Rubin.

In this book, she talks about her project to “work” for a full year on increasing her happiness. Each month, she tackles a different aspect of happiness. For example, in January she’s boosting her energy by going to bed earlier, eating healthier, exercise better, in February, she’s working on her marriage with efforts to quit nagging, give proofs of love, stop expecting praise, and so forth.

I really can relate to every aspect of happiness she’s talking about. Those are very important parts of our lives, but we don’t always take the time to consciously work on improving them.

Before starting to read that book, I was already constantly searching for ways to make my family happier, to spend quality time with them, but also to find my own purpose.

For several years, I’ve been searching for a purpose, a reason for my life. I’ve also been wondering what I loved to do and how to balance it all. It’s been hard. I’m a pretty extreme person, I’d go all in but wouldn’t last. For example, I would eat 100 % healthy for 2 weeks but then binge on crap for 2 more weeks without being able to find balance between the two, and repeating this cycle over and over again.

girl-429380_1920

Now 32 years old, I’ve realized that what’s crucial is to find balance. It’s better to eat healthy meals with some (un)healthy snacks than go for the all or nothing mentality. Keeping a healthy base prevents me to go into extremes.

I believe that, as humans, we need a structure to strive. It doesn’t matter whether we are kids, teens or adults.We all need structure. And what gave me mine is my family. I want to be an example for my baby girl, so I need to give myself structure if I want to be able to give it to her.

I’m still reading The Happiness Project, I’m only on chapter 5, May. But I can already say that this book is having a great impact on me. I love the idea of having a happiness project, and I think… no, I KNOW that I would greatly benefit from one so I’m actually considering starting my own.

What do you think about having a happiness project?

Leave a Reply

